top of page

Hold Still

Hold still.

I find myself pondering upon the wisdom and comfort

That these two simple words bring.


To me, it means two different things —

Depending on where my life swings.


It is a struggle to hold still

When I cannot wait for something to happen.


It is a struggle to hold still

When my patience is wearing thin

Or when I feel that I cannot carry on.


In these moments

Holding still seems like the last thing I can do.


Yet it is a privilege to be able to hold still

When the world outside is in chaos.


It is a privilege

To enjoy a holiday without feeling the need to hurry

To pick up groceries from a nearby store

Grab a coffee on-the-go

Have my favorite meal

Work on something that fascinates me

And spend time with someone I love.


These are the things

I get to enjoy and cherish

Because I can hold still.


I know not everyone can hold still

The way I can in this very moment.


So I ponder upon these things

To remind myself:

Hold still, and live in the moment.

Hold still. It gets better.


 


bottom of page